WordHappy Reader “Best of 2008” List: Thinking Caps On

j0396070Now, you know and I know that these next few days are going to be a haze of wrapping paper and too much food. And no matter what holiday you celebrate, the fact remains that almost everything will be closed – and if you’re getting hammered with snow like much of the country – you don’t want to go out anyway.

So reflect – ponder, if you will – on your top-of-the-line choices for the best of 2008. What movies did you see that knocked your socks off? What music did you listen to and actually notice the words? What books did you read that made you stay up way past your bedtime? These are the things I want to hear about.

I will be taking your choices in the areas of:

  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Television
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Other

The “Other” category is for anything else that gave you goosebumps that somehow isn’t included in the above. Please post a comment with your recommendations below. I’d love it if you’d forward this post to your friends as well, so we can get even more participation.

I’ll take comments up until December 31st. Then I’ll compile a list of everyone’s choices and make it the first WordHappy post of 2009!

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, and  Best wishes to you all!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “WordHappy Reader “Best of 2008” List: Thinking Caps On”

  1. eBookGuru Says:

    I think the best book I read this year would either be the eBook “Bestseller” by Keith Latch, or the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin (I reviewed both on our site).

    The best movie was likely Wall-e. For music and other – I’m not sure.

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  2. pam Says:

    The new David Byrne/Brian Eno album. Oh. My. God. Plus, you can download it for FREE. That’s some yummy, brainy, infectious popaliciousness.

    http://www.everythingthathappens.com/

  3. Jill Says:

    Wow – Pam – I’m taking your advice – I didn’t know that’s free!! Awesome.

    Ok – my faves? Err…umm…eek – what did I finish? Oh! I know – Three Cups of Tea (almost a year ago but it as in Jan 2008) – the book. Best movie? Hmm – well, Rachel Getting Married actually was very very good – I loved the characters who play against type.

    Other? How about learning how to use social media. 🙂

  4. Caleb Powell Says:

    Best films: Tie ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ and ‘Gran Torino’

    Not only best films of 2008, but they would go on my all-time best list.

    C

Comments are closed.