Short and Sweet: Tropfest NY 2008 Winner

Color me astonished. Thanks to friends with impeccable taste at Twitter (yes, Pam, I’m talking about you), I was led to this short film by Jason van Genderen, called “Mankind is No Island.” This film was shot entirely with a cell phone camera in New York and Sydney, and took the top prize at Tropfest NY 2008, the world’s largest short film festival.

Yet as impressive as the technical achievement of this film, the words and message contained within the film are even more praiseworthy. It is the perfect synthesis of word and art, message and picture.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Short and Sweet: Tropfest NY 2008 Winner”

  1. Anne Lindsay Says:

    Poetry. Thank you for sharing this with us. My goosebumps are starting to subside and the beauty of this is beyond “words”.

  2. pam Says:

    Hey! Hey! Is that me me, or some other me? I figure I just have incredible luck to find this stuff, it’s nothing to do with taste. 🙂

  3. toddiedowns Says:

    Glad you liked it, Anne. And yes, Pam, that’s you you.

  4. phhhst Says:

    First time here. Came from Midlife Bloggers. Great short.

  5. toddiedowns Says:

    Welcome, phhst! Hope to see you again. I’m thrilled you enjoyed the short as much as I did.

  6. Snotty McSnotterson Says:

    Hey there, missy 🙂 It was wonderful meeting you on Saturday. I really love this movie, and will probably be stealing it, right after I fix my website (ran into every technical difficulty known to man last night, and I’m now dying from 2 hours of panicked sleep). I like your blog, it’s very usable–nice content, too.

Comments are closed.


