SNL Palin/Clinton Skit: When Satire Hits the Bullseye

I am jumping on this bandwagon as surely as the leaves are gonna fall, but I cannot help myself. In the past 24 hours, there have been a flurry of Twitter tweets and links to last night’s Saturday Night Live opening skit, even on the NPR website itself. So, in the event that you, like I, are happily dreaming on Saturday nights like the good nerds we are, I refer to you SNL’s spot-on national address by Sarah Palin (Tina Fey) and Hillary Clinton (Amy Poehler). In a Presidential campaign that seems to be deteriorating before my very eyes into mean-spiritedness and outright lies, it is so refreshing to be able to take a step back and laugh at the whole thing.

Here’s the thing about satire. In the political arena, it can be more potent as a tool to expose the truth about the fictions that the parties and/or politicians are trying to feed us than any other form of writing. I don’t know if Tina Fey and Amy Poehler wrote this particular opening skit (and they well may have), but props to the writers of this address for highlighting some of the biggest absurdities of the campaign to date.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “SNL Palin/Clinton Skit: When Satire Hits the Bullseye”

  1. pam Says:

    that is the role that tina fey was BORN to play. BORN for it.

  2. toddiedowns Says:

    I practically wet myself watching her – global warming is “God’s way of hugging us closer.” Oh dear God.

  3. nearlynormalized Says:

    Yeah Tina, been waiting for that one–right on sisters!!!!

  4. elfinugget Says:

    I have to agree with Toddiedowns… That was just a fantastic line. That and, “It just goes to show anyone can be president!”
    “yes, ANYONE!!! ANYONE AT ALL!!

    This skit was pure genius. So hilariously accurate.

    And OMG can Tina Fey do a great Sarah Palin. It’s just perfect.

  5. Jennie Says:

    I love the little poses she was doing. Fuuuuunnnnnnnnny!

Comments are closed.


