The Best Medicine: Dr. Horrible’s Singalong Blog

Since, y’know, I’m always right on the pulse of this whole Internet thingy, I actually DID hear about Dr. Horrible’s Singalong Blog, an Internet-only musical film, before the film went live, as it were. After all, it’s a creation of Joss Whedon, genius behind Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly. Of course, the date the first episode was released, I had something going on – don’t even remember what – and (shamed head-hanging here), I missed it.

I was prepared to take my lumps and wait for the eventual DVD release, since I don’t have a video iPod, when like angels singing from heaven, a friend told me I could watch the three episodes (or one 42-minute video) on hulu.com for FREE! I gotta say, this project made me happier than anything I’ve seen in a long time. The film is written by Joss Whedon and his brothers Zack and Jed Whedon, and Maurissa Tancharoen, and features the same kind of quirky, enhanced-everyday speak that the residents of Buffy’s Sunnydale spoke so well.

This time, the protagonist is Dr. Horrible (Neil Patrick Harris), who, true to the title, blogs about his trials and tribulations and breaks into song every once in a while. But while he is an evil genius, he has dreams just like the rest of us: to have his application accepted by the Evil League of Evil, and to work up the courage to talk to the girl of his dreams, Penny (Felicia Day). If only his nemesis – because there must always be a nemesis – Captain Hammer (Nathan Fillion) wouldn’t keep interfering.

Did I mention the dialogue? It’s a hoot (and the songwriting is top-notch as well):

Dr. Horrible: A lot of guys ignore the laugh, and that’s about standards. I mean, if you’re gonna get into the Evil League of Evil, you have to have a memorable laugh. What, do you think Bad Horse didn’t work on his whinny? His terrible death-whinny?

or

Captain Hammer: Stand back everyone, nothing here to see. Just imminent danger and in the middle of it me. Yes, Captain Hammer’s here, hair blowing in the breeze. The day needs my saving expertise. Man’s got to do what a man’s got to do. Seems destiny ends with me saving you. The only doom that’s looming is in loving me to death. I’ll give you a second to catch your breath.

Great writing, great acting, great songs. This one’s just what the doctor ordered.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “The Best Medicine: Dr. Horrible’s Singalong Blog”

  1. JAG Says:

    WordHappy rocks!! SO much good advice! LOVE Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog!!!!! Blissfully, brilliantly warped and entertaining! Do you know if there will be more episodes or what likes ahead for Dr. Horrible in the future?!

    (I really have to back up and go through the Buffy episodes. I did a lot of tv ignoring when it was on.)

    Thanks for a blog filled with great info and insights!

  2. toddiedowns Says:

    I blush. Thanks for the praise. To the best of my knowledge, I think Dr. Horrible was a one-shot deal. (Random note – As I watched it, I found myself thinking, “Wouldn’t this be an awesome high school musical?” I can just see H.S. drama directors queuing up to ask for the rights.)

  3. Nanny Goats Says:

    I am so glad you mentioned this. I only half paid attention to whatever show I was listening to that brought it up and I gave up searching for Mr.</b Horrible which led me nowhere!

  4. toddiedowns Says:

    Thank Twitter. Someone else was singing the praises and I mentioned I was too cheap to pay for the experience on iTunes, and was graciously led to Hulu, where there were no Hulu hoops to jump through (ar ar ar).

Comments are closed.


