Hits and Misses of the Emmy Noms: Clearly, They Don’t Read WordHappy

The Emmy nominations are out! The Emmy nominations are out! I can’t wait to see my favorite shows on here. But, wait. . . I see some, yet there seem to be some rather gaping holes – dare I say, abysses (abyssi?).

Let’s recount the television shows I have hailed this year:

30 Rock: Okay, the Emmy people love this show as much as I do. Included among their 17 (!!!) Emmy nominations: Outstanding Comedy Series, Lead Actor (Alec Baldwin) and Lead Actress (Tina Fey), and Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series (for TWO episodes).

Pushing Daisies: Despite its shortened season due to the writers’ strike, this show scored pretty well in the Emmy nominations, mostly scoring nods for acting and its arty look. But wait – what’s this I see? A writing nomination for the pilot episode. Hooray!!

In Treatment: BOO!! Bad Emmy people! Only four nominations, with a deserved three for acting (Gabriel Byrne, Dianne Wiest, and Glenn Turman) – where’s the love for Sophie (Mia Wasikowska), people??? And no writing nominations. For shame.

The Wire: I can barely write this. One. Lousy. Nomination. A show that virtually ALL television critics hailed as maybe the best, most intelligent series on television, EVER – and it scores one nomination. Granted, it’s for the writing in the series finale. But please. That’s an insult.

LOST: I’m still bitter about The Wire, frankly. Yeah, whatever. Outstanding Drama nomination. Big whoop. Where’s the writing nomination for “The Constant,” the brilliant and emotional time loop episode featuring Desmond? I’ll tell you where. In the crazy time warp that the island apparently went to, because it’s sure not here.

So. Some hits. Some misses. Some egregious errors. There’s always next year.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Hits and Misses of the Emmy Noms: Clearly, They Don’t Read WordHappy”

  1. Pamela Sitt Says:

    I am with you on The Wire! I’m at the TV Critics press tour in LA right now and it’s the talk of the town. They got robbed, for sure!

  2. Michelle Rafter Says:

    WordHappy, how could you write an Emmy nominations recap and not mention “Mad Men,” my personal fav? Can’t wait for this Sunday night when season no. 2 debuts.

    Michelle Rafter
    WordCount

  3. toddiedowns Says:

    Michelle, I LOVE Mad Men and am counting the minutes until I can time warp back into the 60s and see what those crazy ad men and their women are up to. The reason I didn’t include it in my Emmy list is because its season had ended before I started my blog. Thus, I haven’t had a chance to gush about it yet. You can well imagine what one of my posts next week will be. . .

  4. JAG Says:

    Just finished the first season of MAD MEN. Good times! I LOVE and sorely miss Pushing Daisies!!!! SO glad it was recognized with Emmy noms!!!! Need to put The Wire in my Netflix queue.

  5. toddiedowns Says:

    I am pinching myself in anticipation of the coming fall TV schedule. I have spent far too much time this summer doing constructive things. . .

Comments are closed.


