Great Posture for a Fat Chick: A Wii Fit Review

Wii Fit Ski JumpI’ve had my Nintendo Wii Fit game for almost a week now, and let me just start by saying, according to Wii Fit, I’ve got amazing posture for a fat chick. And still, even despite that backhanded virtual compliment, I love love love this game.

Why, you might be asking, is a blog devoted to good writing spending precious procrastination minutes talking about a video game, for pete’s sake? Because I am going to talk about the writing.

But first, the basics. Nintendo’s Wii Fit uses a balance board/weight scale on steroids as its literal and figurative foundation. First thing you do is step on the board and stand there while the game weighs you and figures your BMI. Then it tells you in this terribly chirpy little Wii voice whether you are underweight (as if!), normal (I wish!), overweight (getting close), or obese (head of shame). Worse, the game then adjusts the size of your mini-Mii to match your grouping. The only way to handle the embarrassment of an electronic gadget telling you you’re obese is to have a sense of humor about it. Thus, I’ve dissociated the virtual Mii from the reality ME – I just refer to her as “Fat Mommy” and get on with it.

The games are divided into four categories: Yoga; Strength-Training; Aerobics; and Balance games. I’ve had more fun than a person should be allowed to have playing the balance games. In the Soccer game, you have to lean to the left and right to hit soccer balls with your head, while avoiding thrown shoes and pandas. The first time my Mii got hit by a shoe in the head, I laughed so hard I fell off the board. Oops.

In my opinion, where the true greatness of the game lies, however, is in its yoga and strength-training exercises. And this is where the good writing comes in. A male or female trainer guides you through the exercises (both are buff and kind of hot in a desaturated color, non-threatening kind of way, although the male’s voice is a little wimpy). You can opt for a demo, or go straight to the exercise or yoga pose itself. These exercises and yoga poses manage to hit every learning modality effectively. You can visually watch and imitate the trainer; you can read the instructions or listen to them from the trainer; and you can practice hands-on. The trainers’ cues are brief but thoroughly comprehensible, even for someone who is new to an exercise or yoga pose. Even more amazing, in a HAL-like fit of immediate biofeedback, the balance board registers how stable or unstable you are, prompting the trainer to offer suggestions on the spot on how to remedy the problem.

I can also attest to the universal appeal of the game to closet video gamers like myself (not so closet anymore, I guess, if I’m admitting it on a blog), video game shirkers like my hubby, and children. The game has become the new carrot/stick in our discipline modality – “If you don’t do what I ask now, you won’t be allowed to play Wii Fit.” Sweet.

Do I think this is THE fitness answer? Nah. It’s fun, but it takes almost as long to navigate between options as it does to participate in the exercises and games; thus, to register a 30 minute workout can take up to an actual 50 minutes. But as an adjunct to an already existing exercise program, and as a biofeedback tool to make us more aware of our bodies, it’s the bees’ knees. Even if it does call me fat.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Great Posture for a Fat Chick: A Wii Fit Review”

  1. Betty Olson Says:

    Warm up my remote……….I just tried on my summer clothes………

  2. peg c Says:

    I just got mine and I’m hooked already. Love Wii Fit.

Comments are closed.


