The Evolution of Wii Fit

Wii FitIn a fit of snowbound-crazed delirium, I recently bought a Nintendo Wii, which I must confess that I love. I love that Wii Sports makes me a pretty good bowler, and that I can almost beat my husband at tennis (as opposed to reality, where it’s fruitless even to try). So how happy have I been to know that Nintendo will in May release Wii Fit, the answer to all my exercising prayers?

Because I am so breathlessly anticipating the release of this product, I’ve read anything that falls across my way on the topic. One such offering was an interview with the makers of Wii Fit by Satoru Iwata, the president of Nintendo Co., Ltd. I originally envisioned skimming my way through the interview, only to emerge shaking my head in wonderment half an hour later. For anyone who is interested in vicariously experiencing the evolution of a product, from inception to completion, this set of interviews is a must-read. The idea arose as a fun way to weigh yourself — as if such a thing exists. From that kernel of an idea for a glorified scale came the contributions of many, many people –designers, programmers, executives, and more — and from that evolved a product that looks like a heck of a lot of fun.

See what you think.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “The Evolution of Wii Fit”

  1. Nintendo Wii - Information on the Nintendo Wii » The Evolution of Wii Fit Says:

    […] Evolution of Wii Fit lily wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWii Fit In a fit of snowbound-crazed […]

  2. Gil Mayron Says:

    http://www.VirtualTennisTour.com
    Play in real Wii Tennis Tournaments!

    Gil Mayron
    #1 Wii Tennis Player in The World beat the Bryan Bros

  3. toddiedowns Says:

    Oh my goodness, your website is too funny. Congratulations on your ranking; you’ve apparently toiled very hard for it. Dare I ask if there are more than 10 Wii Tennis Tournament players out there?

  4. Chris Rand Says:

    That was a great interview, and although it’s easy to criticise the product compared to the simple pleasures of getting outside and going for a run, I can’t wait. We have Wii Fit available here in the UK on 25 April.

  5. toddiedowns Says:

    I know that you mean, Chris. Although I have noticed that with Wii Sports, it has spurred an interest in our family to try the actual games. My kids were very excited (if frustrated) to be swinging at a real tennis ball. I give props to anything that gets us up off of our respective backsides.

  6. Hebrink Says:

    I think the Nintendo Wii fit cost is reasonable to buy, It’s amazing for family to do exercise at home.

  7. toddiedowns Says:

    Ooh, Hebrink, do you have one already? If so, please give us your impressions. Until it gets released here in the U.S. in May, I must vicariously enjoy others. But you’re right – I also think the price for the device is enormously reasonable based upon what it offers. It’s certainly cheaper than a gym membership.

Comments are closed.


