When She Loved Me: Great Love Songs Part II

Heart in HandI’m not sure I noticed this until I started hunting for love songs that I love, but there are not very many “rah-rah” ain’t-love-grand love songs out there. Most of them seem to have a thread of sadness running through them — memories of a love now lost, or love despite disappointments or betrayals.

Still, they sure are purty. The first of today’s installments comes courtesy of English singer/songwriter/guitarist extraordinaire Richard Thompson: “Dimming of the Day” off of the Richard & Linda Thompson album Pour Down Like Silver (1975). It is perhaps better not to know that the Thompsons experienced a rather ugly parting of the ways by the early 80’s. Still, the song endures, and has been covered by artists as diverse as Bonnie Raitt and the Neville Brothers:

This old house is falling down around my ears
I’m drowning in a river of my tears
When all my will is gone you hold me sway
I need you at the dimming of the day.

Then, for a love song of a different kind, consider the love that a toy has for its owner. At least, Randy Newman did in his song “When She Loved Me” off of the TOY STORY 2 soundtrack. Despite its unconventional theme, I think it holds up as a love song for any type of love outgrown:

When somebody loved me
Everything was beautiful
Every hour we spent together lives within my heart
And when she was sad
I was there to comfort her
And when she was happy
So was I
When she loved me

I’m open to any reader suggestions as well. It would be fun to create the ultimate non-wedding cliche love song mix.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


