Giving Thanks, Part I: Fiction

Well, it’s Thanksgiving week, which is one of my favorite holidays. CornucopiaFirst, because it involves turkey and stuffing and pumpkin pie. But even more because it involves giving thanks, which in my humble opinion is a very underrated activity. There are so many instances during the day when I hear news that makes me want to bang my head against a wall repeatedly and with great force; or someone does something mean or irredeemably stupid; or other injustices occur that I have no control over. So the chance to stop for just a moment and give thanks for something that’s right in my world. . . well, it has a way of recalibrating the balances, as it were.

With that in mind, I will take this week to give my own ever-shifting, very personal list of great writing for which I give thanks. Today’s focus is on fiction writers. I’ll try to hit songwriting and tv/movies before I’m too full from turkey to sit at the keyboard.

Anita Shreve: SEA GLASS

Mark Helprin: WINTER’S TALE

Ann Patchett: THE MAGICIAN’S ASSISTANT

Kent Haruf: PLAINSONG

Julia Glass: THREE JUNES

Harper Lee: TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

Dennis Lehane: GONE, BABY, GONE

What books and writers are on your list of things to be thankful for? Tell me in the Comments section. Honest — you’ll feel better.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Giving Thanks, Part I: Fiction”

  1. TV Movies Soaps » Giving Thanks, Part I: Fiction Says:

    […] toddiedowns placed an observative post today on Giving Thanks, Part I: FictionHere’s a quick excerptI’ll try to hit songwriting and tv/movies before I’m too full from turkey to sit at the keyboard. Anita Shreve: SEA GLASS. Mark Helprin: WINTER’S TALE. Ann Patchett: THE MAGICIAN’S ASSISTANT. Kent Haruf: PLAINSONG … […]

  2. Barbara Brink Says:

    I give thanks for anything Diana Gabaldon writes. Her time travel historic novels have killer humor and great romantic adventure.
    David Baldacci’s “Wish you Well”
    Barbara Kingsolver’s “Poisenwood Bible”
    I love suspense, so I have to give thanks for Iris Johansen, Catherine Coulter, Patricia Cornwell. Mary Higgens Clark, and LInda Fairstein.
    And I don’t want to forget those authors I read voraciously in Junior High: Victoria Holt, Dorothy Eden, Mary Stewart, and Phyllis A Whitney.

  3. toddiedowns Says:

    Barbara – Thanks for your comment. I especially liked the fact that you included writers who were important to you in Junior High –particularly formative years in my own growth as a reader. I will also definitely check out Diana Gabaldon on your recommendation, since she’s the only one on your list I wasn’t familiar with.

Comments are closed.


